Report

HISTORY OF WARTSILA SWITZERLAND LTD., WINTERTHUR

GESCHICHTE VON WARTSILA SCHWEIZ AG, WINTERTHUR

  STORIA DELLA WARTSILA SVIZZERA AG, WINTERTHUR

The beginnings of the worldwide Wärtsilä Corporation, with head office in Helsinki, Finland, dates back to the same year, when Sulzer Brothers in Winterthur, Switzerland was founded, that is 1834.

In this year a saw mill was founded in the small finnish town of Värtsilä, in the province of North Karelia, belonging today to Russia. Two years later, the industrialist Nils Ludvig Arppe (1803-1861) took over the saw mill and in 1851 he added an iron work. From his heritage emerged the concern Wärtsilä AB in 1898. In 1935, before the Soviet-Finnish winter war broke out (1939-40) the head office was moved to Helsinki. 

After a licensee agreement was concluded with the Germaniawerft in Kiel, Germany, belonging to Friedrich Krupp, the construction of diesel engines was commenced and in 1942 the first engine was delivered. In 1983 an own shipyard was taken in service in Turku, Finland. During the same period the shipyards of Valmet AB were taken over, however in 1989 the whole shipbuilding division went bankrupt and was suspended. 

In the years after 1980 many companies, engaged in ship propulsion were taken over, such as Stork Werkspoor Amsterdam, SACM Mühlhausen, GMT Grandi Motori Trieste, Nohab Diesel, Deutz MWM Marine Service (2005). Today the company offers a wide selection of products for the shipping industry, such as two- and four-stroke diesel engines, diesel generator sets, controllable pitch propellers, azimuthing thrusters, water jets, automation, ship’s design and much more 
(see www.wartsila.com). 

1995 began also a cooperation with the US-American diesel engine manufacturers Cummins.

In 1997 the complete diesel engine construction division in Winterthur, Switzerland, the NSD New Sulzer Diesel was amalgamated with Wärtsilä and Fincantieri, Italy. The new company was called Wärtsilä NSD Corporation. In the year 2000 the company finally changed to it’s today’s name Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd., henceforth the famous name Sulzer only continues to live in maritime history. The last diesel engine built and tested in Winterthur was delivered in December 1988. It was a stationary engine, type: 8 RNF 68M for an electric power station in the Bahamas. 

Initially Wärtsilä was engaged only in the manufacturing of small, high speed four stroke diesel engines, but with the acquisition of New Sulzer Diesel the breakthrough into the market for large, slow speed diesel engines was achieved, a market dominated today by MAN-B&W und Wärtsilä.

Already before the sale of the diesel activities, Sulzer radically changed in 1983 their design of the slow speed, two stroke engines from the well proven loop scavenging to the uniflow scavenging system. The change to uniflow scavenging (with an exhaust valve in the cylinder head, like on a B&W-engine) was a physical necessity, in order to increase the bore/stroke ratio and hence to achieve a better efficiency. These new engines were termed the RTA-series, first with bores of 380 to 840 mm, later up to 960 mm. in 1991 the first experiments with electronic injection were carried out on a 4 cylinder test engine. 

In October 1995 the new built Diesel Technology Centre in Winterthur was inaugurated, located in the large industrial site of Sulzer Brothers Ltd. in Oberwinterthur (about 4 kilometers from city centre). Today various tasks are carried out in this centre, running tests are conducted on the large 4-cylinder experimental engine RTX-4, basic research, training of operating crews and high precision parts for fuel injection systems are fabricated and tested. Presently the experimental engine is rigged for two-stage turbo charging and tests are run to reduce NOx content in the exhaust gases. A non-operational demonstration engine is displayed in the training hall with partly opened crankcase and removed cylinder covers to introduce visitors to the construction of a modern diesel engine. 

Technology_Centre.jpg (146541 Byte)  Please click on the small pictures to enlarge them and vice versa.
Photo: Diesel Technology Centre (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

rtx-4.jpg (218337 Byte)
Photo: Experimental engine  RTX-4 (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

The first engine working with electronic injection was a 6RT-flex 58T-B with 11'275 kW at 93 RPM and it was installed and taken into service in September 2001 in the bulkcarrier “GYPSUM CENTENNIAL“

These engines are principally normal, slow running, two-stroke, crosshead engines, but with radically changed fuel injection system, based on the “common rail system” (older marine engineers probably will remember this system from the Doxford engines). A fuel booster pump creates a pressure of about 850 bar in the “common rail” (a common pipe, serving all cylinder units). From the “common rail” the fuel is distributed by electronic / hydraulic control units to the fuel injectors in exact time intervals and quantities. This electronic injection results in cleaner exhaust gas and reduced fuel consumption. Also much improved values at slow manoeuvring speeds are obtained (for more technical details, see attached brochure). The world most powerful diesel engine is today the 14-cylinder Wärtsilä RT-flex96C with a power output of 80,080 kW (108,920 bhp) and a cylinder bore of 960 mm. The first engine of this model was taken into service in September 2006 and is also used for the propulsion of the world’s largest container vessels of the Emma Maersk class. 

Today about 560 persons are employed in the Diesel Technology Centre and in the offices of Wärtsilä in Winterthur, in research and development, marketing and service, however the production of the engines takes place almost to 100 % in the large shipbuilding nations of the Far East. In Europe and South America only a very few engines are manufactured, since shipbuilding in these countries has decreased drastically. 

injection.jpg (98875 Byte)                              To enlarge the diagram please click on it.
Diagram: Schematic diagram of RT-flex injection (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

Brochure: Wärtsilä RTA96C Engine Technology Review (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

July 2010                
Photos

 

Back

Bericht

GESCHICHTE VON WARTSILA SCHWEIZ AG, WINTERTHUR

  HISTORY OF WARTSILA SWITZERLAND LTD., WINTERTHUR

STORIA DELLA WARTSILA SVIZZERA AG, WINTERTHUR

Die Anfänge der weltumspannenden Wärtsilä Corporation, mit Hauptsitz in Helsinki, Finnland gehen auf das gleiche Jahr zurück, in dem Gebrüder Sulzer AG in Winterthur gegründet wurde, nämlich auf das Jahr 1834 

In diesem Jahr wurde im finnischen Städtchen Värtsilä, in der heute zu Russland gehörenden Provinz Nordkarelien ein Sägewerk gegründet, das zwei Jahre später vom Industriellen Nils Ludvig Arppe (1803-1861) übernommen wurde. 1851 gründete Arppe eine Eisenhütte und aus seinem Nachlass ging 1898 der Konzern Wärtsilä AB hervor. 1935, also noch vor dem Finnisch-Sowjetischen Winterkrieg (1939-40) wurde der Hauptsitz der Firma nach Helsinki verlegt. 

Nachdem ein Lizenzvertrag mit der zum Friedrich Krupp Konzern gehörenden Germaniawerft in Kiel abgeschlossen wurde, begann der Bau von Dieselmotoren und die erste Maschine wurde 1942 abgeliefert. Im Jahr 1983 wurde eine eigene Schiffswerft in Turku, Finnland in Betrieb genommen. In der gleichen Zeit wurden auch die Werften der Valmet AB übernommen, jedoch 1989 war der ganze Schiffbau bankrott und wurde eingestellt.

In den Jahren nach 1980 wurden noch viele weitere, im Schiffsantrieb tätige Firmen aufgekauft, wie Stork Werkspoor Amsterdam, SACM Mühlhausen, GMT Grandi Motori Trieste, Nohab Diesel, Deutz MWM Marine Service (2005). Heute bietet die Firma eine vielfältige Auswahl an Produkten für die Schifffahrt an, wie zwei- und vier-takt Dieselmotoren, Dieselgeneratoren, Verstellpropeller, Ruderpropeller, Waterjets, Automation, Schiffsdesign und vieles mehr (siehe www.wartsila.com). 

1995 begann auch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem US-amerikanischen Motorenhersteller Cummins.

In 1997 hat der gesamte Dieselbau in Winterthur, die NSD New Sulzer Diesel, mit Wärtsilä und Fincantieri fusioniert. Die neue Firma wurde danach in Wärtsilä NSD Corporation umbenannt. Im Jahr 2000 wurde die Firma endgültig in Wärtsilä Schweiz AG umbenannt und der traditionsreiche Name Sulzer in der Schifffahrt lebt nur noch in der Geschichte weiter. Im Dezember 1988 wurde der letzte Grossdieselmotor in Winterthur gebaut und getested, ein 8RNF68M, der dann als Stationärmotor in ein Dieselkraftwerk auf den Bahamas eingebaut wurde.

Wärtsilä war ursprünglich nur in der Fabrikation von kleineren, schnelllaufenden Viertaktmotoren tätig, aber mit dem Kauf der New Sulzer Diesel gelang der Durchbruch in den Markt für grosse, langsamlaufende Dieselmotoren, der heute von MAN-B&W und Wärtsilä beherrscht wird. 

Noch vor dem Verkauf der Dieselaktivitäten hatte Sulzer im Jahre 1983 ihr Design radikal von der bis anhin bewährten Umkehrspülung auf die Längsspülung umgestellt. Die Längsspülung (mit einem Abgasventil im Zylinderkopf wie bei B&W) war eine physikalische Notwendigkeit, wollte man grössere Bohrung/Hubverhältnisse und damit bessere Wirkungsgrade erreichen. Diese neuen Maschinen gehörten zur RTA-Serie, die zuerst mit Zylinderdurchmessern von 380 mm bis 840 mm gebaut wurden, später auch mit 960 mm Bohrung. 1991 begannen auch die ersten Experimente mit elektronischer Einspritzung auf einem 4-zylinder Versuchsmotor

Im Oktober 1995 wurde das neue Diesel Technology Centre an der Sulzer Allee im ehemaligen, grossen Werksgelände der Gebrüder Sulzer AG in Oberwinterthur eröffnet. Hier werden heute Versuche gefahren auf dem grossen 4-zylinder RTX-4 Versuchsmotor, Grundlagenforschung betrieben, Trainingskurse für Betreiberpersonal durchgeführt und Präzisionsteile für die Brennstoffeinspritzung gefertigt und getestet. Gegenwärtig ist der Versuchsmotor auf 2-stufige Turboaufladung umgebaut, um Versuche zur NOx-Reduktion in den Abgasen zu fahren. In der Trainingshalle steht auch noch ein nicht mehr betriebsfähiger Demonstrationsmotor mit teilweise geöffnetem Triebwerk und abmontierten Zylinderköpfen, um Besuchern die Bauweise eines moderen Dieselmotors näherzubringen. 

Technology_Centre.jpg (146541 Byte)        Bitte zum Vergrößern auf die Bilder klicken.
Photo: Diesel Technology Centre (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

rtx-4.jpg (218337 Byte)
Photo: Versuchsmotor RTX-4 (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

Der erste mit elektronischer Einspritzung arbeitende Motor, ein 6RT-flex 58T-B mit 11'275 kW bei 93 U/min wurde im September 2001 in den Bulkcarrier “GYPSUM CENTENNIAL“ eingebaut und in Betrieb genommen. Diese Motoren sind im Prinzip gewöhnliche, langsam laufende zwei-takt Kreuzkopfmotoren, aber mit einem radikal geänderten Brennstoffeinspritzsystem, das auf dem “common rail system“ basiert (die älteren Schiffsingenieure werden das noch von der Doxfordmaschine her kennen). Eine Brennstoffförderpumpe erzeugt einen Druck von ungefähr 850 bar in der “common rail“ (ein gemeinsames Brennstoffrohr für alle Zylinder). Von der “common rail“ wird der Brennstoff durch elektronisch/ hydraulisch gesteuerte Kontrollventile zeit- und mengengenau auf die Einspritzventile verteilt. Diese elektronische Einspritzung ergibt verbesserte Abgas- und Brennstoffverbrauchswerte. Auch ergeben sich stark verbesserte Werte bei sehr kleinen Umdrehungen während des Manöverierens (für mehr technische Details, siehe die beigefügte Broschüre). Der weltgrösste Dieselmotor ist heute der 14-zylinder Wärtsilä RT-flex96C mit einer Leistung von 80,080 kW (108,920 bhp) und mit einer Zylinderbohrung von 960 mm. Der erste Motor dieses Modells wurde im September 2006 in Betrieb genommen und dient auch zum Antrieb der weltgrössten Containerschiffe der Emma Maersk-Klasse.

Heute arbeiten ungefähr 560 Personen im Diesel Technology Centre in Oberwinterthur und in den Büros von Wärtsilä in Winterthur in Forschung und Entwicklung, Marketing und Service, während jedoch die Produktion der Motoren fast zu 100 % in den grossen Schiffbauländern des Fernen Ostens stattfindet. In Europa und Südamerika werden nur noch sehr wenige Motoren hergestellt, da in diesen Ländern der Schiffbau sehr stark zusammengeschrumpft ist.

injection.jpg (98875 Byte)                                Bitte zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken.
Diagram: Schematic diagram of RT-flex injection (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

Broschüre: Wärtsilä RTA96C Engine Technology Review (courtesy of Wärtsilä Switzerland Ltd.)

Juli 2010                
Fotos

 

Back