HISTORY OF KUESTENSCHIFFAHRTS AG (Coastshipping Ltd) GOLDACH / SG

       

The grain mill Ostschweizerische Mühlen AG, Goldach in the canton of St. Gallen (above Rorschach on Lake Constance) established in 1951 the Küstenschiffahrts AG, Goldach (Coastal Shipping Ltd.) and purchased at the end of the same year the old coastal steamer BEATRIZ and renamed her GALLUS.

The history of the Ostschweizerische Mühlen AG, Goldach can be traced back to the 17th. Century, when 1670 the Bruggmühle was founded and 1899 was merged with the Neumühle to form the Vereinigte Mühlen AG (United Mills), later the Ostschweizerische Mühlen AG. The company still exists today, but again under its original name Bruggmühle Goldach AG and belongs to the Minoteries Group in Granges-près-Marnand VD (near Payerne).

The share capital of 150'000.- Swiss francs belonged to Ostschweizerische Mühlen AG and to Emil Eberle and Martin Müller, both in leading functions in the mill. Emil Eberle and Martin Müller formed also the board of directors. A check by the authorities showed, that the Ostschweizerische Mühlen fully belonged to Swiss citizens, therefore the complete share capital of the shipping company was in the hands of Swiss nationals. For this reason the Federal Council granted permission to fly the Swiss flag for their ship GALLUS. The freighter was purchased in December 1951 from A.B. Estoco, Stockholm for a price of 420'000.- Swiss francs. The reminder of the sum was covered by loans from the mill and from Mr. Eberle. Contrary to other Swiss ship owners the Küstenschiffahrts AG, Goldach took steps to operate the ship by themselves. To this end, Gottfried Marti was employed, a person with marine knowledge and experience, gathered in a shipping company in Basel.

One may wonder, how a mill invests in shipping, but it can be said, the people in this business always were internationally orientated, especially in the grain trade. With the uncertain and difficult supply situation during the World War II it was obvious to invest in a cargo ship and particularly after the outbreak of the Korean War in summer 1951, driving freight rates to new heights.

Unfortunately the GALLUS remained only for slightly more than one and a half year in service. When the Korean War ended in 1953, the freight rates slumped and the old steamer could not be operated anymore with a profit. The GALLUS was laid-up in July 1953 in Hamburg and in November of the same year given to a local demolition company.

According to Marc Müller, grandson of Martin Müller, the picture of the GALLUS still today adorns the conference room of the Bruggmühle, Goldach.

Sources:

- Swiss Federal Archive, Bern

- Marc Müller, Bruggmühle Goldach

SwissShips HPS, July 2015

    Back

GESCHICHTE DER KÜSTENSCHIFFARTS AG GOLDACH / SANKT GALLEN

    

Die Ostschweizerischen Mühlen AG, Goldach im Kanton St. Gallen (oberhalb Rorschach am Bodensee) gründeten im Jahr 1951 die Küstenschiffahrts AG, Goldach und erwarben Ende des gleichen Jahres das alte Küstendampfschiff BEATRIZ und tauften es GALLUS.

Die Firmengeschichte der Ostschweizerischen Mühlen AG, Goldach lässt sich bis in das 17. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen, damals im Jahr 1670 wurde die Bruggmühle gegründet und 1899 mit der Neumühle zur Vereinigte Mühlen AG, Goldach fusioniert, später zur Ostschweizerischen Mühlen AG. Heute besteht die Firma immer noch, aber wieder unter dem ursprünglichen Namen Bruggmühle Goldach AG und gehört zur Minoteries Gruppe in Granges-près-Marnand VD (bei Payerne).

Das Aktienkapital von 150'000.- Franken gehörte den Ostschweizerischen Mühlen AG, sowie Emil Eberle und Martin Müller, beide in leitender Stellung im Mühlenbetrieb. Emil Eberle und Martin Müller bildeten auch den Verwaltungsrat. Eine Nachprüfung ergab, dass auch die Ostschweizerischen Mühlen voll Schweizer Bürgern gehörte, somit das ganze Kapital der Reederei in Schweizer Händen lag. Auf Grund dieser Tatsachen bewilligte der Bundesrat das Flaggenrecht für die GALLUS. Der Frachter wurde von A.B. Estoco, Stockholm zum Preis von 420'000.- Franken im Dezember 1951 übernommen. Die restliche Summe des Kaufpreises wurden von Darlehen der Mühle und Herrn Eberle gedeckt. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Schweizer Reedern bemühte sich die Küstenschiffahrts AG, Goldach ihr Schiff auch selber zu betreiben. Zu diesem Zweck wurde auch Gottfried Marti eingestellt, der zuvor in einem Schifffahrtsbetrieb in Basel die entsprechenden Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen gesammelt hatte.

Man wundert sich vielleicht, wie ein Mühlenbetrieb auf die Seefahrt kommt, dazu kann man sagen, in diesem Gewerbe sind die Leute schon immer international ausgerichtet gewesen, besonders mit dem Getreidehandel. Nach der prekären Versorgungslage während des 2. Weltkriegs war es bestimmt naheliegend in ein Schiff zu investieren, zumal im Sommer 1951 der Koreakrieg ausgebrochen war und die Frachtraten in die Höhe trieb.

Leider blieb die GALLUS nur gute anderthalb Jahre in Betrieb. Nach dem 1953 der Frachtmarkt mit dem zu Ende gehenden Koreakrieg zusammen gebrochen war, konnte der alte Dampfer nicht mehr gewinnbringend betrieben werden. Die GALLUS wurde im Juli 1953 in Hamburg aufgelegt und im November 1953 an eine Abwrackfirma übergeben.

Gemäss Marc Müller, Enkel von Martin Müller, hängt noch heute ein Bild der GALLUS im Sitzungszimmer der Bruggmühle in Goldach.

Quellen:

- Schweizer Bundesarchiv, Bern

- Marc Müller, Bruggmühle Goldach

SwissShips, HPS, Juli 2015

Back