HISTORY OF LEPONTIA S.A. CHUR

       

The shares of Lepontia SocietÓ di Navigazione Marittima S.A. Chur, Switzerland belonged to Annie and RenÚ Dollfuss, widow and son of the late Korpskommandant (army general) Ruggero Dollfuss (1876 - 1948) from Castagnola and Kiesen BE (between Bern and Thun), Bernardo Caverzasio from Chiasso and the well-known Dr. Waldo Riva (1905 - 1987) from Lugano, a lawyer, politician and high army officer. Ruggero Dollfuss and his father made their money as entrepreneur in the chemical industry, but also Bernardo Caverzasio was in the same trade and he founded in 1929 ICR Industrie Chimiche Riunite S.A. Chiasso, a company still in business today.

On 27.10.1951 Lepontia SocietÓ di Navigazione Marittima, Chur purchased the freighter CAPO ARMA and entered her as LEPONTIA I in the Swiss ship's registry. Dr Waldo Riva, a board member of Banco di Roma per la Svizzera, Lugano arranged a loan for the vessel. The management was allocated to G.E.N. Gestione Esercizio Navigazione, Chiasso, a subsidiary of G.E.N. in Genoa (Fratelli Cosulich). It appears, that on the beginning the vessel was sailing in time charter for an US-company, but no further details are known. After about four and half years the ship was sold on 05.02.1955 to Greek interests, which registered the steamer as DEMETRIOS under the flag of Costa Rica.

Already when granting the right to fly the Swiss flag, various questions were raised, which the company could not accomplish or was unwilling to do. The most important question was about the ship's management, which by law should be in the hands of Swiss citizens, residing in Switzerland, which of course with G.E.N. was not fulfilled. However to build up such an organisation with one ship only, was a difficult and costly task, therefore it remained the promise to implement this request after more ships were acquired. A further demand was to employ Swiss seafarers, however we assume, no Swiss seaman ever put his foot on deck of this vessel and it remained firm in Italian hands.

Other considerations affected the share capital of the Dollfuss family. The father of Ruggero Dollfuss was the founder of a chemical work in Milano, but he was also the leader of the bank house Dollfuss in the same city. With the help of the tax offices it was confirmed, that the fortune of Annie and RenÚ Dollfuss were earned in Switzerland and no foreign capital was involved. Therefore, on the financial side all was in good order, but the management and control of the vessel remained of concern. In any case the company did not purchase any further ships and it is assumed after the sale of the LEPONTIA I all the activities were ceased.

Interesting to know, the Lepontia S.A. was in personnel and financial terms identical with the Delphinia SocietÓ di Navigazione Marittima S.A. Chur, which ordered in 1952 from an Italian shipyard the small tanker BERNA, but apparently was declined the right to fly the Swiss flag. This tanker sailed as BERNA under the flag of Panama until her demolition 1975 in the Spanish port of Gandia.

Launching of the motortanker BERNA on July, 24th 1952 at Monfalcone

SwissShips, HPS, July 2015

    Back

GESCHICHTE DER LEPONTIA S.A. CHUR

    

Die Aktien der Lepontia Società di Navigazione Marittima S.A. Chur gehörten Annie und René Dollfuss, Witwe und Sohn von Korpskommandant Ruggero Dollfuss (1876 bis 1948) aus Castagnola und Kiesen BE (zwischen Bern und Thun), Bernardo Caverzasio aus Chiasso, sowie dem bekannten Tessiner Dr. Waldo Riva (1905 bis 1987) aus Lugano, ein Anwalt, Politiker und hoher Armeeoffizier. Ruggero Dollfuss und sein Vater hatten ihr Geld als Unternehmer in der chemischen Industrie gemacht, aber auch Bernardo Caverzasio war im gleichen Sektor tätig und gründete 1929 die Firma ICR Industrie Chimiche Riunite S.A. Chiasso, die noch heute besteht.

Am 27.10.1951 erwarb die Lepontia Società di Navigazione Marittima, Chur den Frachter CAPO ARMA und liess ihn unter dem Namen LEPONTIA I ins Schweizer Seeschiffregister eintragen. Dr Waldo Riva, als Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der Banco di Roma per la Svizzera, Lugano arrangierte ein Darlehen für das Schiff. Das Management übernahm die G.E.N. Gestione Esercizio Navigazione, Chiasso, eine Tochtergesellschaft der G.E.N. in Genua (Fratelli Cosulich). Es scheint, dass anfänglich der Frachter in Zeitcharter für eine US-Firma gefahren ist, doch Näheres ist nicht bekannt. Nach knapp viereinhalb Jahren wurde der Dampfer am 05.02.1955 an griechische Interessenten weiterverkauft, die das Schiff als DEMETRIOS unter der Flagge von Costa Rica fahren liessen.

Schon bei der Flaggenrechtsvergabe wurden verschiedene Fragen aufgeworfen, die diese Reederei wohl nicht erfüllen konnte und wahrscheinlich auch nicht erfüllen wollte. Die wichtigste Frage war die Verwaltung des Schiffes, die Behörden forderten, dass die Kontrolle über den Betrieb des Schiffes in Schweizerischen Händen liegen musste, was natürlich mit der G.E.N. nicht gegeben war. Aber mit nur einem Schiff war es jedoch schwierig und kostspielig eine solche Organisation aufzubauen. So blieb es dabei, dass die Firma versprach, nach dem Erwerb von weiteren Schiffen sich um diese Angelegenheit zu kümmern. Eine weitere Forderung betraf das Anheuern von Schweizer Seeleuten, aber vermutlich hatte nie ein Schweizer je den Fuss an Deck ihres Schiffes gesetzt, es war wohl fest in italienischer Hand.

Andere Bedenken betrafen das Aktienkapital der Dollfuss. Der Vater von Ruggero Dollfuss gründete ein Chemiewerk in Mailand und leitete auch das Bankhaus Dollfuss in dieser Stadt. Über die Steuerämter konnte man feststellen, dass die Vermögen von Annie und René Dollfuss aus der Schweiz herrührten und kein ausländisches Kapital vorhanden war. Somit war finanziell alles zum Besten, aber die Kontrolle der Verwaltung gab Anlass zur Besorgnis. Jedenfalls kaufte die Firma keine weiteren Schiffe und hatte vermutlich nach dem Verkauf der LEPONTIA I ihre Aktivitäten eingestellt.

Noch interessant zu wissen, die Lepontia S.A. war in personeller und finanzieller Hinsicht mit der Delphinia Società di Navigazione Marittima S.A. Chur identisch, die 1952 in Italien den kleinen Tanker BERNA bauen liess, aber dem offensichtlich das Recht zur Führung der Schweizer Flagge verweigert wurde. Dieser Tanker fuhr dann als BERNA unter der Flagge von Panama bis zu seiner Verschrottung 1975 im spanischen Gandia.

Stapellauf von M/T BERNA am 24.07.1952 in Monfalcone

 

SwissShips, HPS, Juli 2015

                

Back